June 5, 2011

Bishop Ordains 4 Permanent Deacons in 'Historical Event'

SAGINAW - The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, today ordained four men as permanent deacons to serve the Diocese of Saginaw.

The ordination was historic in that it was the first time Bishop Cistone ordained permanent deacons since he was consecrated as a bishop in 2004 and the first "class" of permanent deacons ordained in the Diocese of Saginaw since the program was reinstated in 2006 following a 25-year stoppage.

The new deacons include (pictured above with Bishop Cistone from left to right) the Rev. Mr. James W. Damitio of Sacred Heart Parish in Mt. Pleasant, the Rev. Mr. Michael C. Smith of St. Joseph the Worker Parish in Beal City, the Rev. Mr. Gary Patelski of St. Michael Parish in Pinconning and the Rev. Mr. Stanislaw Kuczynski of St. Stanislaus Kostka Parish in Bay City.

The are 17 permanent deacons serving in the Diocese of Saginaw.

No comments: