April 5, 2011

Sr. Maureen Donovan, SC is named 2011 Bishop Murphy Award Winner

BAY CITY — The Most Rev. Joseph R. Cistone, Bishop of Saginaw, announced today that Sister Maureen Donovan of the Sisters of Charity of Cincinnati, will be the recipient of the 2011 Bishop Murphy Award.

Bishop Cistone will present the award during the Bishop’s Charity Ball on April 29 at the Horizons Conference Center in Saginaw Township. The award is presented annually to a person who, through the example of their life, fulfills Jesus’ mandate to promote and pass on our faith.

“Sister Maureen has dedicated her entire life to passing on the faith,” said Bishop Cistone. “She has spent decades serving St. James School and Parish in Bay City, in her role as principal, teacher and director of religious education and also in her extraordinary outreach to the community. I am very grateful that Sister Maureen
answered God’s call to religious life and that she has used her vocation to live and bear witness to the gospel of Christ in s
uch a generous and loving way.”

Sister Maureen arrived at St. James Parish in 1967. In addition to her formal roles as principal, teacher and director of religious education, she also has served the community through many parish ministries including Christian service commission, food pantry, and parish council. Sister Maureen served on the Board of Catholic Family Service as well as numerous local and diocesan-wide educational committees, assisting with revisions, mergers and consolidations of education programs.

One of nine children, Sister Maureen Donovan entered the Sisters of Charity as Florence Theresa Donovan. She professed her final vows in 1950, received a bachelor’s degree at the College of Mt. St. Joseph in Cincinnati, Ohio, and a master’s degree from the University of Detroit. Prior to arriving in Bay City to serve on the St. James School staff, she taught in Cincinnati, Ohio, Fayette, Ohio, Royal Oak, Mich, Pueblo, Colo., and Jackson, Mich.

The Bishop Murphy Award is named in honor of the first ordinary of the Diocese of Saginaw, the Most Rev. William F. Murphy. Past Recipients of the award include: Dr. Donald Campbell (2010), Archbishop Robert J. Carlson (2009), Sr. Corinne Weiss, SJ (2008), and Stanley Krajkowski (2007).

1 comment:

Carmen said...

Sister Maureen is the perfect candidate. Her devotion to the Church and the St James Parish is unparalleled. She lives her faith everyday and an inspiration to all.